Roon Ready Certification

Bricasti M5 and built-in Network Players
User avatar
SalR406
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2021 10:40 pm

Roon Ready Certification

Post by SalR406 »

I see on the Roon Labs web site that the Bricasti M5, M1, and M12 are already certified as Roon Ready devices.

https://roonlabs.com/partners/bricasti

I'm a roon user waiting for the M21 to complete its certification. Since Roon Labs doesn't comment on certifications while they're in progress, I was hoping Bricasti could keep its customers up-to-date on status here. Thank you...
Bricasti M1SE | Benchmark HPA4 | Focal Utopia | Genelec 8030C | roon
User avatar
bricastibrian
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2021 12:57 am
Location: Medford MA USA

Re: Roon Ready Certification

Post by bricastibrian »

we are just about completed with the M3, once that is released we can look to getting the M21 done.
Current setup: Platinum Series M20, M21, Classic M28s, Tidal Piano G2 Diacera, Gotham AG Power, Bricasti Solid CC Interconnects, Bricasti SF8 Speaker Cable.
Airman
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2021 7:11 am

Re: Roon Ready Certification

Post by Airman »

Dear Mr. Brian,

The M3 just appeared as Roon Ready on the partners page. Would you please let us know about software update procedure for uncertified M3. Thank you!

https://roonlabs.com/partners/bricasti
Airman
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2021 7:11 am

Re: Roon Ready Certification

Post by Airman »

Update:

Now Bricasti M3 is identified as a Roon Ready device. That's great! ;)

00A61F9F-3B97-4FD4-B98A-1E981AE1B839.jpeg
00A61F9F-3B97-4FD4-B98A-1E981AE1B839.jpeg (441.53 KiB) Viewed 4707 times
User avatar
BricastiDamon
Site Admin
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2021 7:43 pm
Location: Los Angles, CA

Re: Roon Ready Certification

Post by BricastiDamon »

Today the Bricasti M3 is officially Roon Ready!
167675557_3354938497940865_6315666592775759690_n.jpg
167675557_3354938497940865_6315666592775759690_n.jpg (20.34 KiB) Viewed 4695 times
madfloyd
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2021 5:32 pm
Location: Holliston, MA

Re: Roon Ready Certification

Post by madfloyd »

Roon is indicating that the Bricasti M3 is upsampling all PCM content (e.g. 44.1k to 352k); is this to be expected?
Bricasti M3 owner
User avatar
bricastibrian
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2021 12:57 am
Location: Medford MA USA

Re: Roon Ready Certification

Post by bricastibrian »

Yes and this is how the converters work for PCM in all our products as they use sigma delta type converters, including the M1, M12 and M21, for example in the earlier versions of the M1 we displayed this rate in but in the M3 we do not.
Current setup: Platinum Series M20, M21, Classic M28s, Tidal Piano G2 Diacera, Gotham AG Power, Bricasti Solid CC Interconnects, Bricasti SF8 Speaker Cable.
madfloyd
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2021 5:32 pm
Location: Holliston, MA

Re: Roon Ready Certification

Post by madfloyd »

Thank you for the reply.

I remained troubled and perhaps a bit confused because the post by Airman (in this thread) shows his signal path as lossless while mine is 'enhanced'. Enhanced might be a positive adjective but Roon has conditioned us to want a purple (lossless) icon rather than a blue (modified) one.

Image

Can you explain why Airman's signal path is lossless and mine is not?
Bricasti M3 owner
User avatar
BricastiDamon
Site Admin
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2021 7:43 pm
Location: Los Angles, CA

Re: Roon Ready Certification

Post by BricastiDamon »

Hi Madfloyd,

"Enhanced" indicated with a blue light means that Roon is pre-processing the audio signal, in your case its upsampling from 44.1kHz to 352.8kHz. You can read more about it in Roons documentation if your interested:

https://help.roonlabs.com/portal/en/kb/ ... ignal-path

Of course its fun to flip all the switches, in practice you're better off letting the M3 do all the processing internally as we've intended. Roon advises this as well and I quote from Roons documentation:

"Hardware manufacturers are in a unique position to produce DSP that is tuned to their gear. If you paid for it, use it!"
madfloyd
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2021 5:32 pm
Location: Holliston, MA

Re: Roon Ready Certification

Post by madfloyd »

Thanks for the reply. The Roon folks are stating that Roon is only reporting what the Bricasti is doing. I have all DSP turned off in Roon and the signal path indicates that the sample rate conversion takes place AFTER going to the DAC (I didn't realize this at first and thought there was some sort of bug in Roon but when it was pointed out to me it made sense). I also see that the status on the M3 reports the native sample rate of whatever file I'm playing in Roon (how could it know if Roon was upsampling?).

So the hypothesis that makes sense is that the M3 is doing the up conversion and not Roon (again, I have everything in Roon turned off). I realize this is contrary to what you just stated though.

My goal is definitely to get LOSSLESS playback and not convert sample rates at all.

Could there be some sort of setting in my M3 that might be responsible for this conversion (again, assuming it's not Roon)?
Bricasti M3 owner
Post Reply