Bricasti M3 voltage

Bricasti DACS
Airman
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2021 7:11 am

Bricasti M3 voltage

Post by Airman »

Dear Mr. Brian,

My Bricasti M3 voltage was preset at 220V. My listening room has voltage around 227V - 235V. So can I use the M3 safely with this voltage, or I need a voltage stabilizer 220V for the M3, please let me know.

Thank you!
313BBDAA-B31D-4078-80EA-42092C2F65AB.jpeg
313BBDAA-B31D-4078-80EA-42092C2F65AB.jpeg (518.04 KiB) Viewed 2706 times
User avatar
bricastibrian
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2021 12:57 am
Location: Medford MA USA

Re: Bricasti M3 voltage

Post by bricastibrian »

the M3 internal power supplies are linear as such the transformers can be set to run at 220V or 240V nominal nominal AC inlet, and( 120, 200, 100V ), so when set to 220V this is the optimal setting if the power is at 220V for correct power and heat and headroom for low voltage drops. But in this case you are running on the high side meaning it will produce excess current and higher output voltage, which then needs to be regulated down to the correct DC voltage, the excess energy will be dissipated as heat. at 227 this should not be an issue for components, but running up to 235 is questionable and you might consider to do something about it as over time it will stress components and the transformer more, besides the unit getting overall warmer. If set to 240V then it will run cooler, and the power supply is designed such that at the 240V setting there is enough headroom to provide enough current to run down to at least 10-15% below the rated voltage, so when set to 240V tap it can run down to an AC power range of least 215-210 V and not loose regulation. For this reason when we build products for 230V operation they are set to the 240V taps on the transformer and can provide plenty of current at 230V and running a bit cooler. all this considered for the long term you might consider to either do something about your power or change the M3 to 240V.
Current setup: Platinum Series M20, M21, Classic M28s, Tidal Piano G2 Diacera, Gotham AG Power, Bricasti Solid CC Interconnects, Bricasti SF8 Speaker Cable.
Airman
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2021 7:11 am

Re: Bricasti M3 voltage

Post by Airman »

Thank you for your useful information. Can the distributor changes the M3 to 240V for me, and how about warranty after doing this?
User avatar
bricastibrian
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2021 12:57 am
Location: Medford MA USA

Re: Bricasti M3 voltage

Post by bricastibrian »

yes they can and there is no issue with warranty
Current setup: Platinum Series M20, M21, Classic M28s, Tidal Piano G2 Diacera, Gotham AG Power, Bricasti Solid CC Interconnects, Bricasti SF8 Speaker Cable.
Airman
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2021 7:11 am

Re: Bricasti M3 voltage

Post by Airman »

Once again thank you Mr. Brian. Bricasti M3 is such a great streamer/DAC, I'm so happy with it.
Post Reply