Settings for Tidal MQA files on Roon

Bricasti DACS
Django
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 11, 2021 1:11 pm

Settings for Tidal MQA files on Roon

Post by Django »

I recently purchased an M1SE and love it. Much more involving than the Chord TT2 it replaced.

I am wondering how to set up the Bricasti to play MQA files from Tidal. I know it is controversial format, but I want to get the most out of the 24/96 files, MQA or not. I am using a Roon ROCK NUC as server. On Chord, which doesn’t decode MQA, I used “Renderer Only”. On Bricasti, it appears to do the full unfold when “Renderer and Decoder” is chosen. Is it MQA compatible? What settings do you recommend?
Attachments
5E6B602D-E25F-4500-8D3B-0DF21B51F091.png
5E6B602D-E25F-4500-8D3B-0DF21B51F091.png (854.37 KiB) Viewed 2042 times
46D5B1BF-EBDE-4304-8919-CBA77A5422BF.png
46D5B1BF-EBDE-4304-8919-CBA77A5422BF.png (948.09 KiB) Viewed 2042 times
User avatar
BricastiDamon
Site Admin
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2021 7:43 pm
Location: Los Angles, CA

Re: Settings for Tidal MQA files on Roon

Post by BricastiDamon »

Hello and glad you're enjoying your M1SE.

Set Roon for "Decoder" in Roon, your M1 will decode the full MQA compression scheme and play the MQA file using the M1's proprietary anti-aliasing filters. That's all you have to do.

A second unfold would involve replacing your M1's anti-aliasing filters with MQA's own filters which is not supported.
Django
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 11, 2021 1:11 pm

Re: Settings for Tidal MQA files on Roon

Post by Django »

Thanks so much!
Airman
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2021 7:11 am

Re: Settings for Tidal MQA files on Roon

Post by Airman »

Hi Django,

With Roon ROCK, you set:

1. MQA capabilities: No MQA support
2. Enable MQA core decoder: On

Now Roon will do the first unfold(most important part), all MQA files will be 24/96(or 24/88.2). Enjoy your music! ;)
Post Reply